Travel Photo Thursday: Basilica on the Danube – Esztergom, Hungary

16 Jun

Estzergom, Hungary

Today we visit the town of Esztergom, situated on the Danube River which forms the Hungarian/Slovak border. In fact, this photo was taken from the bridge to Slovakia, not far from its somewhat intimidating entry point. Regardless, the bridge provides the perfect vantage point for the Esztergom Basilica – Hungary’s largest church and tallest building.

Esztergom was our stop for the night after a day of travel from Budapest that included stops in quaint, but touristy Szentendre for lunch (biggest bean/legume ever in my soup – I have the photo to prove it) and Visegrád.

Some tips if you go:

  1. Go to the top! Really, anytime you can climb, do it – the views have never let me down. From the Basilica there are sweeping views of the Danube bend and a picture-worthy reality-check or two on the scale of the building.
  2. Have a Plan B. Or more like a B, C, D Plans (this trip used them all and it was still epic). We planned to leave our bags in Visegrád to scale the hill and check out the castle and its views. No left luggage spot in this teeny town. Plan B? Have a beer and wait for the next bus. Worked out just fine.
  3. For the budget-minded traveler (oh, were we on this trip), I recommend Alabárdos Pension. Yeah, it’s a hike up the hill but remember that beer we had in Visegrád? Nullified. AND you get to use a working skeleton key the size of your hand. AND you’re greeted by a St. Bernard named Gigolo.

Taken 6.2005

This photo is included on Budget Traveler’s Sandbox Thursday Travel Photo feature. Be sure to check out the other participating photos!

14 Responses to “Travel Photo Thursday: Basilica on the Danube – Esztergom, Hungary”

  1. Jim June 16, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    The picture seems familiar. I’m trying to remember if we would have crossed the border at that point when travelling there in 2008. Brain’s getting foggy.

  2. jadebroadus June 16, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Great tips and great shot! I agree- whenever I can go to the top of something, I do!

  3. Sharon aka, one of your biggest fans June 16, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    I’m relaxing after a busy troubling day snd I thoroughly enjoyed the view. Keep the pics coming.

  4. Turkey's For Life June 16, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Great phot. We’ve only ever been to Budapest in Hungary and would love to explore more of the country. We always try to get a bit of a height wherever we go because the views are always better.
    Julia

  5. Muza-chan June 16, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    Great photo 🙂

  6. Cathy Sweeney June 17, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    Great photo of this beautiful spot. The Danube — to me, it’s still a dream to visit there. Soon, I hope. And yes, we should always have a Plan B (or C, etc.)!

  7. Leigh June 17, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    Good info & tips and sounds like an interesting – though perhaps challenging part of the world to visit. I always like to climb to the top – love the view and the surprise of what else you can see. Nice shot!

    • DesignbyJen June 17, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

      Leigh, it was a bit challenging, but a lot has probably changed in 6 years and it was only my 2nd major trip, so was getting my footing still. Learned a ton – mostly that anything that seems like a crisis isn’t (it is vacation, after all) and usually turns out for the better and always makes for a good story! Oh, and people are usually the best part of the story – helpful and kind.

  8. Sabrina June 17, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    What a gorgeous place! I would totally follow your suggestion and try to get to the top 🙂 I love whenever I can get a view from taller buildings!

  9. Denise June 17, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    Oh how I miss Hungary….and particularly Budapest. My boyfriend is Hungarian but was born in Switzerland, and last December we headed there to explore his roots 🙂 I also chose a photo from Hungary

    • DesignbyJen June 17, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

      Denise! I read your blog! I’ve been enjoying the Budapest posts. We loved it so much in 2002 we went back in 2005 and explored more of Hungary too. I would go back any time, feel totally comfortable there.

  10. manonthelam.com June 17, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    I was in Budapest many moons ago but did not make it to Esztergom — very cool looking place though!

  11. DesignbyJen June 17, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    Thanks for all the kind comments, everyone!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Travel Photo Thursday: Makarska, Croatia « - June 23, 2011

    […] is a perfect example of the Plan B approach I mentioned in last week’s Travel Photo Thursday post. We were in Dubrovnik and […]

Leave a Reply

