Travel Photo Thursday: Library of Celsus – Ephesus, Turkey

2 Jun

Library of Celsus, Ephesus

While I’m not exactly a photographer, I do happen to take quite a few photos while traveling. Once in a while one turns out decently (sometimes even using an iPhone). Regardless, photos take us places. Often I need to be reminded of the places I’ve been lucky enough to experience and also to keep dreaming of the next destination. This explains my hopeless addiction to travel and photography blogs.

Today’s photo was taken in the ruins of the ancient city of Ephesus near Selçuk, Turkey. The Library of Celsus is without a doubt the best-preserved building in the complex. Very difficult to take a poor picture of something so epic!

Some tips if you go:

  1. Go in the afternoon to avoid busloads of cruise passengers
  2. Bring your own water
  3. Veer off the well-traveled path

Taken 9.16.2010

This photo is included on Budget Traveler’s Sandbox Thursday Travel Photo feature. Be sure to check out the other participating photos!

16 Responses to “Travel Photo Thursday: Library of Celsus – Ephesus, Turkey”

  1. Cathy Sweeney June 2, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Nice photo, Jen. I’m like you — I’m not a photographer but I take lots of photos and sometimes I get a winner!But the most important thing is to just get the photos for the memories — and blog posts, of course. 🙂

  2. Mark Wiens June 2, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Cool shot, I would love to visit someday! I bet the sites have potential to get really crowded – thanks for the tip!

    • DesignbyJen June 2, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      Cathy and Mark – you’re my first blog commenters EVER!! Thank you so much! I am beyond excited. I’ll be trolling through your blogs and looking for travel inspiration. Hopefully I’ll be able to continue this Travel Photo Thursday thing. Thanks again!

  3. Jane June 2, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    I’d love to see it in the flesh too!

  4. Michael Figueiredo June 2, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Great shot! I went to Istanbul last year, but didn’t have enough time to see Ephesus. Next time for sure!

  5. Michael Figueiredo June 2, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    p.s. Congrats on your first blog post! 🙂

    • DesignbyJen June 2, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

      Thank you! We hit three spots in Turkey and loved them all. It is a must return for me. We missed Cappadocia, so it’s an essential for next time. Think of the photos from there! Do you have Istanbul shots? I’ll have to poke around your site.

  6. Raymond June 2, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    I’ve been to Turkey twice and love, love, LOVE it! You should definitely go to Cappadocia next time!

  7. Leigh June 2, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Lovely shot in a very interesting part of the world.

    Stick with Nancie and you’ll see lots of comments over the next months. I agree that it is a thrill to finallay see comments. Congrats.

    • DesignbyJen June 2, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

      Thank you so very much. I’ll have to get Nancie and her fans on my weekly schedule 🙂

  8. mukuba2002 June 2, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    great photo

  9. Muza-chan June 2, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    Beautiful photo 🙂

  10. Laurel June 6, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    Beautiful, I haven’t been to Turkey yet, but the architecture looks stunning.

  11. Sharon aka, one of your biggest fans June 10, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    I never grow tired of seeing your photos

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Orleans :: One More from the Cemetery « - January 29, 2013

    […] It’s actually one of my favorites partly because of the evil eye which reminded me of my 2010 trip to Turkey. To this day I have one in my home, my office, and I try to have one clipped to my bag while […]

Leave a Reply

