Travel Photo Thursday: St John’s Bridge – Portland, Oregon

28 Jul

St Johns Bridge

Yes, it’s true, I live in Portland. But just because I didn’t travel here doesn’t mean you shouldn’t! While the weather’s been a bit spotty this last month, July and August are usually banner months in the Rose City. I half joke that they’re the months that seduce people into moving here (don’t get me started on February).

There is a ton going on in Portland – way too much to cover here, but I’ll try to hit on a few things:

  1. Beer. We make it, we drink it, we celebrate it. July is Craft Beer Month and today kicks off the 24th Annual Oregon Brewers Festival. Nothing like 80 taps, 80 degrees and the waterfront as a backdrop. If wine is more your speed don’t despair, numerous vineyards are a short and scenic drive away.
  2. Books – the iconic Powell’s Books is not to be missed.
  3. Arts and crafts – a few to get you started:
    First Thursday
    Last Thursday (Contrary to what this link says, LT happens year-round – it’s just less outdoors in the winter. The galleries still host openings).
    Crafty Wonderland
    Guardino Gallery (my personal favorite)
  4. Restaurants/Food – I seriously don’t even know where to begin. We are so fortunate in the talent and range of offerings that I can’t keep up and I live here. Ask around once you’re here and check in on the usual suspects – yelp and urbanspoon. Oh, and don’t forget about the famous food carts!
  5. Let’s not forget the photo! This was taken from the east side of the St. John’s Bridge which was completed in 1931 and evidently was not designed by the same person that designed the Golden Gate Bridge. One of Portland’s many amazing parks, Cathedral Park, sprawls beneath and even leads to more beer, if you’re so inclined.

Taken 5.8.2010

This photo is included on Budget Traveler’s Sandbox Thursday Travel Photo feature. Be sure to check out the other participating photos!

9 Responses to “Travel Photo Thursday: St John’s Bridge – Portland, Oregon”

  1. Michael Figueiredo July 28, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Very cool shot—it has a sort of “vintage” feel to it. Everyone says that Portland is awesome. I’ll definitely have to make it there someday!

  2. Cathy Sweeney July 28, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Cool pic! Sorry to say I’ve only been to PDX to change plans and haven’t had a chance to see the city. I’ve heard that there’s lots going on. My neighbors moved there (from California) a few years ago and they love it.

  3. Sailor July 28, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    Beautiful Picture!

  4. Debbie Beardsley July 29, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Enjoyed your picture and description of things to do in Portland! The Oregons Brewery festival sound great. My son came home from college with a new hobby- beer making! Now we always have a new brew in the Keg-erator :)

  5. Average Traveller July 29, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    10 years ago we used to think of Portland as a pit stop and tax free shopping break on our road trips to California or the Oregan coast. Portland seems to have developed a whole lot of cool since then and I will make sure to plan a couple of days there the next time I come through!

  6. DesignbyJen July 29, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Thanks for all the compliments. Give me a shout if you make to PDX!

  7. Cheryl Howard July 30, 2011 at 4:41 am #

    Nice shot.

    I too am a beer fan! I love that more and more small NA beer producers are creating their own unique and tasty beers and showcasing them in these craft beer fests.

  8. ineffablemuse August 14, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    I do love Seattle, but Portland is in my list to visit next time I’m out near the West Coast. Thanks for the tips on what to do!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

